Hitching to La Paz, Beth Cahill

Hitching to La Paz, Beth Cahill

Audio CD: $9.99
Download FLAC Album: $7.99
Download MP3 Album: $6.99
This album is also available on Beth Cahill - Hitching to la Paz

Fans of Beth's recent acoustic recordings with eclectic folk trio The Malvinas may be surprised at first to hear her delicate vocals breathing these songs in a forest of electric guitars and lush percussion reminiscent of Edie Brickell with the New Bohemians. But it grows on you fast, as do the more stripped-down arrangements on songs like "My Book." Beth's mandolin tends to let each note ring on this record, rather than strum with the band.

The lyrics have the fresh, disarming feel of overheard conversation, but with skillful songwriting they blossom into stories full of insight and Beth's signature blend of irony and compassion. Beth writes that the album's title, in addition to describing actual travels, "is a metaphor for a journey where I had become lost, in every sense of the word. I was able to find my way again; after running out of gas, taking several wrong turns, and getting stuck in some pretty serious ruts. I also discovered, that to get anywhere worth going, a certain amount of "wandering in the desert" is necessary."

Album Track List:
    play download
1. As Good As Anyone    
2. Heart of Darkness mp3
3. Hitching To La Paz mp3
4. Bright Yellow    
5. Hanging by a String    
6. Self Esteem Issue/Why'd you want me?    
7. Millie's Song mp3
8. My Book mp3
9. At My Most Literary    
10. Searching for Bobby Fisher    
11. Anything Rhymes mp3

"Grab your white sneakers and jump on this comet the next time it comes around"

- Dirty Linen

About download formats:

96kHz FLAC is the highest quality format available at our store.
FLAC is a lossless format that is identical in quality to CD.
MP3 is a compressed format that will work in any player. Soona MP3s are encoded at 320kbps.